Hazel.

on

With her Hazel-yellow eyes, and her loving personality, this feline made her way into my arms and eventually my home.

The day I went to get Hazel didn`t start off as planned. My mom had been wanting a cat of her own since Nala never payed her any mind and the idea was for her and my sister to go alone and pick out a cat for $20 adoption day. I was mad because I DID NOT want to stay home alone while they were off “Christmas Shopping” by themselves. THEREFORE, I begged and pleaded until they got tired of me and let me come along. When we finally pulled up to the shelter, they explained why they didn`t want me to come in the beginning and then told me they were finding a kitten for my Christmas present.

The line was a pretty long way from the front doors since we got there just a few minutes until open, but we waited and filled out paperwork before finally going in. There were so many kittens, but each one i held and played with just wasnt the right one. I wanted a kitten that would be lazy and love attention, unlike Nala who got more and more skittish as she aged. I had picked out a fuzzy white kitten who was obviously quite frightened by the crowds in the narrow hall that was lined with cages. I knew it wasnt the one, but convinced myself it was. And then I found Hazel... playing with what seemed to be her three siblings. I put the little white kitten back in its cage and speed-walked to the other end of the hall where Hazels cage was set. I picked her out of the bunch and cradled her in my arms. She was purrfect! (Pun intended) Her sweet personality won me over immediately but I didnt want to rush into a decision quickly. I put her back in her cage  and walked around awhile longer. Then finally,I gave in and said, "ALL RIGHT, THAT`S IT. I WANT THAT ONE!" When I went back to the cage to get her, she wasn`t there and I frantically searched the entire thing hoping she wasnt hiding under something. When I turned around, a young couple had picked her up and all I heard was, "I don`t know, I really like this one, babe. I kind of wanted one that`s more lazy." Inside I was screaming "NOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!!!!!"

QUICK THINKING:

I went back over to the little white kitten, snatched her up and went back over to the couple, “If you`re looking for a lover, then you want this one right here.” After a few moments of observation, thy set Haze back in her cage and took the white kitten out of my arms. I quickly ran over to the cage, snatched up my kitty, and found an adoption volunteer to help start the process. I never put her down the whole time! As we were waiting for them to finish the adoption papers, the young couple I had handed my other little friend to also waited to finish the papers for the very same kitten I matched them with. I walked away with my little Christmas kitty and had helped the couple find theirs, so over-all it was an amazing day.

Hazel is now ten months old and an absolute perfect match for our family!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

SO, now our family consists of a girl, her mom, the annoying big sister, a pup, a feisty feline, and a hazel-eyed sweetheart.

Leave a comment